BAMBOO TRACES─CONTEMPORARY INTERNATIONAL BAMBOO ART & CRAFT EXHIBITION
    Curatorial Concept:
    In an archaeological investigation of Eastern Zhou dynasty, archaeologists found 1.8m x 0.8m well-conserved twill-weaved bamboo strips processed with carbonized pest termite treatment which can be dated more than 2500 years ago. This is the first known bamboo craft; while after 2500 years, the twill weaving is much the same as the abovementioned object.
    Bamboo is a material of time and living life. It contains the speed of time in its fibers; while what we create are objects succeeded with time. In functions of modern objects, bamboo is considered as a fast and ephemeral material. However, according to modern living manners, this material can be interpreted in various perspectives since the constantly changing mindset of people, and it will become a part of the culture. Do we have to consider what imprint of our time are we able to leave to our offspring.
    In the earlier age, bamboo craft used to achieve the needs in agriculture, fishery, animal husbandry, and hunting; it also played the important role as our daily commodities. In industrial revolution time, craft-based production has been facing the crisis of being supplanted by mass machine production. While under the rational thinking of Bauhaus style, it was influenced by the modern approach of fabrication. During war time, it played the role of munitions when material ran out. With the trend of international trading of Capitalism, it was added with a touch of exoticness. More recently, the prosperity in economy brings bamboo craft up to a higher level from Pragmatism to the art of delicate bamboo weaving and carving… Since the increasing consciousness of ecology and environment preservation, many counties start to explore the possibility of applying bamboo and wood onto various installation and architecture. As you may see, bamboo craft has a wide variety of presentation according to different times and cultural context.
    Nowadays, there are abundant worldwide resources of relating organizations, workshops, creation and presentation. Those artisans and artists have been systematically analyzing, applying, cultivating bamboo as a work material; moreover, the researches, implementation and promotion of new methods of processing are further carried out. In Taiwan, National Taiwan Craft Research and Development Institute holds appraisals for excellent handcrafts, expecting to integrate the sense of beauty into our daily lives. Furthermore, bamboo artisans and instructors in designs lead college students to participate in the project “New Fun in Craft,” demonstrating the future possibility of creation through the synergy of bamboo crafting and design. It seems that we can almost tell these young activists in contemporary craft movement humbly succeed those delicate skills of bamboo-crafting experts, and further mix rational thinking of contemporary minimal design and experimentation of integrating different material in bamboo craft. Meanwhile, the possibility of mass production is also taken into account by the young creators who propose a new modern living style for the public with the material of bamboo.
    While the art makers try to communicate with bamboo with their body, mind and the muscles of hands, creating works with the sense of philosophy and spirit, and presenting an alternative spiritual value of contemporary bamboo craft. Thus, the context of bamboo’s new contemporary craft movement is gradually formed.
    In this bamboo craft exhibition, we aim to find the bamboo objects which are able to present: fiber-based aesthetics at the spiritual level, product and structure characteristics of being quantified, and the experimentation in de/reconstructure and mixing media. In the creation of modern bamboo craft, they gradually change the meaning of bamboo as a material. At last, a quote from Jean Baudrillard may raise the curtain of the show: “All the left is beautiful, since it escaped from the catastrophe of time, and becoming a mark of previous life! (That mark is the history of future).”
    展覽資訊
    Information
    展出時間: 2017/3/29–7/16 09:30–17:30
    (周一休,國定假日除外)

    地  址: 10066 臺北市中正區南海路 41 號
    電  話: 02-2388-7066
    Duration:2017/3/29–7/16 09:30–17:30
    (Monday Closed, except the National Holidays)
    Address:No.41, Nanhai Rd., Zhongzheng Dist., Taipei city 10066, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
    Tel:02-2388-7066

竹跡─當代國際竹藝展
    二千五百多年前,尺寸為1.8公尺X0.8公尺,使用人字紋的編法編織而成,表面經過碳化防蟲處理,保存大致完好的竹篾,在2007年的一次東周考古中發掘出來,這是到目前為止,已知最早的竹製品;而二千五百多年後,人字紋編法與上述物件並沒有什麼差異。

    竹是時間與生活的材質,竹將時間的速度記憶在他的纖維裡,我們運用纖維所創造的,是時間延續的物件;在現代物件的功能性裡,竹被認為是快速且短暫存在的材料,而對照現代人們生活特質中,對形式與精神認知及改變,竹這樣的材質,自有不同的詮釋,將來自然會成為文化的一部分。我們是否應該思考能夠為後世留下什麼當代的印記?

    竹藝由早期滿足農、漁、牧、獵生活中的各種需求,走過扮演常民器物的悠悠歲月、在工業革命時期,機器工業大量生產的模式,造成工坊手工業被取代的危機、在包浩斯主義理性思維下,受到現代組構方式的影響、在物資缺乏的戰爭時期,擔任軍需的角色、在資本主義下興起貿易風,產生異域風格的風潮、到了近代經濟的繁榮,竹藝展現了手藝繁複細緻的技巧,將實用主義提升至工藝鑑賞的竹編與竹雕藝術的領域…。近年來重視生態與環保,世界上許多國家又給予竹木各種在裝置及建築的期待與可能性,竹藝在大時代交互影響下,呈現出多樣不同的樣貌,漸次分流各具特色。

    在現今世界各地皆有相關的各種組織、學習工坊、創作與展演,對竹材做有系統的分析、應用、培育,與新加工方式的研究與落實及推廣。在臺灣,國立臺灣工藝研究中心,每年都有優良工藝品的年度評鑑,期望能將美學帶入生活當中。還有竹工藝家與設計科系的老師,帶著大學學生參加工藝新趣的計畫,偏向思考竹藝與設計兩者加乘後,呈現各種在創作上未來的可能性,我們似乎依稀能夠看到當代新工藝運動參與者,謙卑的傳承了竹工藝職人細緻的工藝技巧,加入了當代簡約設計的理性思維及融入異材質的實驗性,並考量量化的可能,試著以竹的材質,為大眾現代生活型態的範疇作提案。

    而藝術創作人,用自己身體、心靈和手的肌肉與竹對話,創作出具哲學性及靈性的作品,呈現當代竹藝的另一種精神價值,竹材”當代新工藝運動”的脈絡漸漸形成。

    本次竹藝展,在找尋能夠呈現出:精神層次的纖維創作及藝術性的作品,及產品與結構的量化性,再到解構重組、複合媒材實驗性的竹物件。在當代竹藝的創作裡,他們漸次改變了竹材質的意義。
    最後以尚‧布希亞曾經說過的一句話,期許這次的展出:所有留下的都是美的,因為他逃過時間的浩劫,因此成為前世的記號!(那記號就是將來的歷史)
    展覽資訊
    Information
    展出時間: 2017/3/29–7/16 09:30–17:30
    (周一休,國定假日除外)

    地  址: 10066 臺北市中正區南海路 41 號
    電  話: 02-2388-7066
    Duration:2017/3/29–7/16 09:30–17:30
    (Monday Closed, except the National Holidays)
    Address:No.41, Nanhai Rd., Zhongzheng Dist., Taipei city 10066, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
    Tel:02-2388-7066